Frustrations of a Highly Educated Man


I am currently 35 years old, married with 2 children, and a dog owner. I have two degrees: the first a Bachelor of Science in Information Systems, the second an Master of Business Administration in Management. I have more than 15 years of experience in business technology and information systems as well being very managerially perceptive. I am a natural problem solver and solutions finder.

I have read more books than the average man. I know Dave Ramsey’s principles as well as many sound personal finance principles. When it comes to business finances, I am really good at managing money and can whip a budget into shape and make it dance.

However, when it comes to personal finance, I suck. I have sucked at it for more years than I have been an adult.

When I was in my mid-20s, I owned a house and made more money from work and renters than my parents combined and then there was the ovetime I made. I would estimate that my free cash flow was well over $1200 a month at a minimum. I’m 35 years old and have no money to show from that time.

I have used several different systems to help us manage our budget from an Excel spreadsheet when I was single, a Google Calendar, open-source accounting software, Microsoft Money, and now a new budgeting tool that I LOVE. In looking over our budget tonight and going over our spending from the last several days, I have found myself upset. All of these years, knowledge, experience, and education and I still have the ability to royally fuck up. I won’t ask you to pardon the language as sometimes, it’s the only way I have for saying what I feel. So, I fucked up in our planning again this paycheck and an unexpectedly large refund was a well-timed gift from a Good God which saved our butts last month and this week. That’s great.

I am no Israelite in the desert needing daily supernatural provision and I am tired of living like one, needing a miracle just to survive. In the modern vernacular that would translate to, “I am tired of living from paycheck to paycheck.” This is ironic having listened to Dave Ramsey for years and still agreeing with his principles. I am no Israelite in the desert. If you look at what the Israelites basically became, after getting into the Promised Land, they became EXCELLENT money managers. In a lot of ways, it’s become ubiquitous with the culture of the Jew as most of you know. In fact, being excellent managers of wealth is very much an Eastern thing as many Asians are excellent at this as well. My mother is from the east, and no offense to my western father, she is far better at managing wealth than my he is. It’s an interesting contrast in cultures. However, all of that is a side-point.

My main point this fine evening is this: I am a stubborn man and I refuse to give up until I become a master of wealth in the making of it and managing of it. I believe this to be a mark of a mature Christian, actually. Whether or not one has billions in revenue or a few dollars, we are to be masters over the income and outgo, not under the thumb of the whole process.

I am still frustrated but less angry now than when I started writing this but I am resolved.

I am 35 years old and I will be a master of money.

About fulloffire

I love Jesus, I love my wife, I love my baby girl, and I love our dogs. I love seeing people lit on fire for God, our all consuming fire and passionate lover of our souls. I hate sickness, disease, death, debt, unemployment and any other injustice. I love people.
This entry was posted in Life, Money, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frustrations of a Highly Educated Man

  1. I think a lot of people are in those same situations.

    Good on you for drawing attention to the fact that so many are living in some frustrating situations.

  2. Mrs Mother Dirt says:

    I read this post because of the honesty. Putting your desires and goals out for others to read is a hard thing to do. Also, anyone who has made their goal public will tell you that your readers will hold you accountable and give you encouragement. We want to see you prevail.

Leave a Reply

