Kendall Earl Yoder


Kendall, my brother-in-law… I confess that I didn’t know him very well. Cherie and I got married and then we were off to Texas and then California. We moved to Virginia and we were all super busy and trying to get settled in. We were so stressed and tired and still healing from a diffucult transition. I never really got a chance to talk with him and have a Kendall-encounter like so many others. I was too busy holding myself apart from family I didn’t know.  I was busy being a husband and a dad. 

It is to that point that I write this. I hold very true that in order to truly make a father feel honored, love on and treat his kids with respect. In that, Kendall shone. I look at these photos and I tear up because I feel so honored and respected. My children absolutely loved their Uncle Kendall. I don’t know that they will ever know how great of a loss they have suffered because they are so young. 

Before I was a father, I was an uncle. Still am. I used to spend quality time with my nephew, Daniel. He’s my first.  Before Cherie and I moved to California, Daniel at the very tender age of about 3 years decided he wanted to spend more time with Uncle Sam after a bit of a gap due to life. My brother, Andrew, had to break it to Daniel that his beloved Uncle Sam was moving away. Daniel was devastated. To be honest with you, Dear Reader, that hurt and devastation is something I deeply regret to this day. All of that time lost with Daniel and the others…

Now, all of Kendall’s nieces and nephews are going to miss out on a man that loved them deeply, no matter how stressful and tiring they can be to us parents. And they will never understand how deeply I will regret this. 

As a father, I can’t be any more honored. 

  
    
   

About fulloffire

I love Jesus, I love my wife, I love my baby girl, and I love our dogs. I love seeing people lit on fire for God, our all consuming fire and passionate lover of our souls. I hate sickness, disease, death, debt, unemployment and any other injustice. I love people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

