Who He is.


So, I am no Hebrew scholar, nor am I very interested in being one. However, Holy Spirit was talking to me this morning about His names in Hebrew and in Jewish tradition. It seems interesting to me that we hold “truths” about God to be very evident but that these “truths” often fly in the face of His many names.

In the season we are currently in, provision is a bigger faith issue as we are not working jobs for money. So, why, in the midst of seasons like this, do we question God’s ability and desire to provide for us? One of His attributes, or names, is “Provider.” This is not something you have to believe in for it to be true. He is Provider and has already provided for your current situation whether you realize it or not.

Blake Healy, in his book, The Veil, mentions this when he writes:

“I know that God is good. If nothing else seeing has taught me that. Everywhere I go piles of his provision lay unclaimed in the streets. These manifest as fountains of joy, windows to revelation, or deep veins of inspiration. These blessings fill the earth…  I walk into churches and see mountains of financial provision piled next to those in need.” (p. 103)

So, it is double-minded of us to confess one way about God with our mouths (his names) but confess differently in the depths of our hearts. This is what Jesus called unbelief. We have so many scriptures that tell us that He has ALREADY given us all that we need for life and godliness, rains on the wicked and righteous alike, etc… And then since we don’t believe in our hearts, it never manifests from the spiritual realm (just as real) to the natural, and so we make that verse apply only to “spiritual” matters. All over the scriptures we see that God is a provider, and not just of need but also of wants.

When do we have double-mindedness? When we say God is our Provider but we MUST work a job to get the provision. (I am not against jobs for money) How about when we say that God is our Healer but only through doctors or only through medicine? The problem here is that we want to choose the methods but Scriptures say He is the many-breasted one (El-Shaddai) which implies not only abundance in depth but also abundance in methods and means. 

We can no longer afford (pun intended) to have unbelief in ANY area of our lives when it comes to who God is and who HE said he is. We can no longer afford to doubt His goodness because that doubt produces unbelief.

By the way, if you are doubting His goodness by quoting scriptures of Old Testament that He is wrathful, etc… you are missing the point that He was NEVER called Shiva (the Destroyer).

I leave you with some references for His names and attributes which you SHOULD believe because these are also the attributes that Jesus Himself (the very image of the Father) mirrored when on the earth.

I could find none of these that are anything BUT positive so go on, believe in Him, the Good God.

http://www.hebrew4christians.com/Names_of_G-d/El/el.html

http://www.agapebiblestudy.com/documents/the%20many%20names%20of%20god.htm

About fulloffire

I love Jesus, I love my wife, I love my baby girl, and I love our dogs. I love seeing people lit on fire for God, our all consuming fire and passionate lover of our souls. I hate sickness, disease, death, debt, unemployment and any other injustice. I love people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

