Yes or no? Neither.


I believe that a lot of times, Papa God is not in the business of telling us, “Yes” or “No” but more interested in what we would like. Sometimes He will give us the exact request and other times He gives us what our heart was asking for but didn’t know we were asking for.

Case in point: my beautiful wife, Cherie. For many years I asked that God would not let me date anyone that could not end up as my wife. He then held me to that request, no matter how much I whined, complained and tried to make happen otherwise. I was head-over-heels  “in love” with several women over the years and know that several others were very interested in me. Nevertheless, no matter how hard I tried, I felt God resisting me when I pushed too hard towards a woman, heard God say, “Not her” about specific women or just make things not work. I know it all sounds coincidental but hindsight being 20/20, I can tell you about each incident and tell you how Papa God held me to what the core of who I was in my heart wanted even when outer desires told me otherwise.

Then I met Cherie and I wrestled with God to make sure my core was being awakened by Him and not outside forces or myself. And then He started speaking over, and over, and over about how Cherie was the right one. And it was really easy once I stepped over each chicken line, following Holy Spirit the whole way until Cherie and I got married.

See, Papa knew what I really wanted, no matter what I told Him I wanted. He held me to a holy request and in so doing, gave me the best woman I could have ever asked for. He blessed me abundantly above what I could have asked or imagined. And daily I am learning that she is better than she was the day before.

Now, this applies not only to a future spouse but in many times, careers, houses, etc… He really does know what our very innermost person would really like to have. I think many times He is just waiting for us to follow His guiding past all of the outer layers so we can find what He has placed inside of us so we can ask for it. And then, once we have asked for what we really want, He is really quick to answer because in Christ, all His promises are “Yes and amen.”

I think that’s what the process is all about: getting to know who He created us to be so we know how to ask the right questions.

About fulloffire

I love Jesus, I love my wife, I love my baby girl, and I love our dogs. I love seeing people lit on fire for God, our all consuming fire and passionate lover of our souls. I hate sickness, disease, death, debt, unemployment and any other injustice. I love people.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Supernatural. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

