The Real World


No, this is not about the MTV show that was highly popular a decade ago. It’s about the real world in which I live. Even more so, it’s about the season I find myself in. For most of the last 5 years, I have been fighting against getting into a rut. I’ve been trying to get out of the daily routine of getting up, going to work, coming home, paying bills, watching TV and going to sleep. This is especially true of the last 2 years now that I am happily married, have a beautiful baby girl and the job I have been wanting for 4 years now.

This evening I find myself tired and I have been wondering why and asking myself: what can I do to break out of this rut? I realized just a few minutes ago that I am not in a rut, but rather I am in a season of working towards some very specific goals. These goals, while not glamorous, are essential to the foundation for the future of my blossoming young family. Goals like: paying off debts, making sure we are all healthy, getting Savannah through her first years on this Earth, getting our marriage through these first few years of Savannah’s on this Earth, etc…

By and large, I am a frontiersman. I don’t like to spend too much time not dreaming or calculating the angles for future plans. I am always looking forward and trying to see what’s ahead. I have big dreams for myself and can see myself doing interesting things. I am starting to realize though, that being in a season in which I must be in a gentle rhythm, is far different from being in a rut. I am starting to remember that Papa God, in His infinite love, once He has started working something in us, will bring us to a good conclusion. This season that I find my beautiful family and I in, is but one short one out of many. I should be quite happy and focusing on restoring my energy instead of trying to push the boundaries of something that has been given to me as a good gift from the good God.

Someday this season will end and we will transition into something new and exciting. It’s time I learn to enjoy myself in every season I find myself in and be thankful for where I am, if only to be able to look back on it with fondness during future times that will just be a bit different.

Blessings on you all.

About fulloffire

I love Jesus, I love my wife, I love my baby girl, and I love our dogs. I love seeing people lit on fire for God, our all consuming fire and passionate lover of our souls. I hate sickness, disease, death, debt, unemployment and any other injustice. I love people.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Real World

  1. testedmettle says:

    Love it! We’re both in similar seasons (as usual). God has been teaching me about similar balance between the “daily living” and ministry opportunities.

Leave a Reply

