Frustrations of a young husband and father


Yes, I am a young husband and father and I am frustrated.

What is the source of my frustrations? Years of me ignoring the sound advice of my parents, former co-workers, Jesus; you name it! I decided to take the quick and easy (up-front) path and get heavily into debt for things I needed, things I didn’t need, fast food, and about a billion other things/”pleasures.” Where has that left me?

Sitting at work, looking at photos and watching videos of my beautiful wife and daughter on Facebook.

Cherie and Savannah

Seriously. I work 1.1 miles away from where we live and we are separated by tens of thousands of dollars of debts. It’s been a rough year for us financially, much like many others in the USA and in Shasta County. I get it, it’s tough all over. But still, I am separated from the life I dream of for my family: the freedom of business consulting, a homestead where we grow our own food and our kids and dogs can play in open spaces, world travel, ice cream…  Freedom. And all because from the time I was 18 years old until sometime last week, I have had trouble slowing down and doing things God’s way instead of Satan’s fast and easy (up-front) way.

Don’t get me wrong; I am thankful for my new job and what the process of getting out of debt will mean for us. It’s just that, I just-now got a bit sick at myself for feeling jealous of my amazing and supportive wife for getting to spend so much time with our daughter. Hell, I get a bit jealous of my dogs for getting to spend so much time with my amazing wife.

My hands, feet and neck are shackled, my back is bowed and I just want to be free. And I have no one to blame but myself. Not God, not corporations, not political figures, not even Satan himself is to blame. Me, unhealthily making poor choices is the true culprit. If you knew my income history, you would know how true that statement is. I have made myself an indentured servant.

Now, it’s time to do something about it. It’s time to take a deep breath, relax and take one step at a time towards freedom. It’s time to be intentional because applied intent is the only way to get free of things like this. I have heard of instances where Papa God pays off debts for people but until that happens for us, it’s one baby step at a time.

About fulloffire

I love Jesus, I love my wife, I love my baby girl, and I love our dogs. I love seeing people lit on fire for God, our all consuming fire and passionate lover of our souls. I hate sickness, disease, death, debt, unemployment and any other injustice. I love people.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Money. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frustrations of a young husband and father

  1. Sounds like you’re on the path to financial peace! Financial Peace University changed our lives.

Leave a Reply

