Dreaming of the future


So, it’s been 9 months since I left my first real job. I had been there almost 7 years, ever since I had graduated from college. Sure, I left once for a couple months after almost 5 years in but I went back for multiple reasons. My last 6 to 12 months there were hellish but it enabled me to meet and marry Cherie so I can’t fault the place or the lessons I learned there. So, now here I sit in northern California instead of the Texas I had known all of my life up until April 2011, pursuing the dream life I can’t hardly define but I have always wanted. I am married to the best woman on Earth and have baby #1 on the way. I am thankful and blessed to be a part of Bethel Church in Redding and all of that is amazing.

However, this a reflective and processing type of blog entry so I am going over the good as well as the not so good so, I sit here and try to be like a son of Issachar and know by revelation what season we are in.  I am currently making just over half of what I was making at my last job, doing something that I am well overqualified for and that disinterests me most of the time. I have 2 degrees and aspirations for doing amazing things.  I am so happy for my Cherie to be finally free to pursue creativity as she desires which has been a desire in her heart for many years.

As for me, I am finally at a point in life where what I have been doing for money is no longer acceptable and has become just an engine to make a dull living. I am finally realizing what I should have learned several years ago; technical support is death to my heart. It does nothing for me and never really has. It always fed my pride because I knew more than other people and liked to let them know it. Thankfully, I have grown up and don’t have the drive to constantly learn more than others so I can fix their issues and have them be reliant on me; that’s just tiring.

So, apparently I am more bent to be an equipper and not a mechanic. I am actually far more satisfied and fulfilled when I get to provide information, tools, resources, etc for someone else to find their own solution. Basically, I want to teach a man to fish instead of give him a fish. I want to provide others the tools to succeed and even help manage their success. I have an MBA in Management and would love to be able to marry the two passions as an equipping manager. I imagine how successful those employees would be and how successful those organizations would be.

Of course, the dream implementation of this would be to own businesses that I equip for success but would only manage part time which would free me up to live other pursuits with my growing family.

9 months… Am I finally emerging from a birthing place into the world where dreams come true?

About fulloffire

I love Jesus, I love my wife, I love my baby girl, and I love our dogs. I love seeing people lit on fire for God, our all consuming fire and passionate lover of our souls. I hate sickness, disease, death, debt, unemployment and any other injustice. I love people.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

