The importance of daily intimacy


I am more and more concerned with myself and other Christians and our apparent OKness with going about our day-to-day lives without experiencing the manifest presence of God. The first Adam walked in the cool of the day with God and so did the second Adam, Jesus. They didn’t do a Bible study or pray as we know it, but they spent time walking and talking with God. It was as natural to them as breathing because it’s what we’re designed for. That first Adam messed things up for us but the second Adam restored it back to us just as He modeled it for us.

When I started dating Cherie, the one major thing God revealed to me was that He most desired what I desired with Cherie; intimacy. This is the lynch-pin and chief cornerstone of why God has done all that He has done. He has wooed us since He created us and for the most part couldn’t care less what we do during our day, as long as it’s with Him. All of our callings, desires, actions and inactions are worthless to us without manifest His presence.

To paraphrase Moses, “God, all of those others are fine and dandy, but I ain’t going nowhere without You with me.” (Moses was apparently from the back-hills of Egypt) We often ask questions like, “How did Jesus know what the Father was doing so He could do it?” As the Son, he does what our children do, and walked by literally imitating what his Father did. In the same way I learned to change my brakes, I watched what my Dad did and asked questions when I didn’t understand something. Jesus left behind all that made Himself God in order to model for us what was possible as the last Adam. We are immeasurably filled with the Holy Spirit as Jesus was, who enables us to draw near to the Father if we’ll just spend some time to look, listen and feel.

He desires intimacy because in it we learn who He is, who we are and how we operate as Jesus did. Most importantly, He desires intimacy because He loves us and really likes us. From studies I have heard quoted time and again, we are designed to have physical affection multiple times a day. How much more so for our spirits? If we starve our spirits what it needs in order to live then we deny ourselves a more abundant life.

What are we exchanging for that abundant life?

About fulloffire

I love Jesus, I love my wife, I love my baby girl, and I love our dogs. I love seeing people lit on fire for God, our all consuming fire and passionate lover of our souls. I hate sickness, disease, death, debt, unemployment and any other injustice. I love people.
This entry was posted in Health, Life, Supernatural. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

