Thoughts on joy


by FullofFire on Friday, July 3, 2009 at 11:33am

This morning I was reading my Bible and Ezekiel 47:1 hit me out of nowhere. As are many things in Scripture, this was a prophetic picture of things to come and things that are: “The man brought me back to the entrance of the temple, and I saw water coming out from under the threshold of the temple…” This hit me because I realized that the river came from under the threshold of the temple which is not at all normal. This means the foundations of the temple are set upon water which is not what we humans would do because our large buildings would fall apart.

However, God does things His way and His ways are above our ways. The river here is the Holy Spirit as we see in many references throughout Scripture that joy and Holy Spirit are entertwined. Psalm 46:4 says, “There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells.” Taken with Nehemiah 8:10 which states that “the joy of the LORD is your strength” we see this wonderful picture of the strength of the Christian life.

We are called a temple of God in 1 Corinthians 6:19 and we know that the river makes glad the holy place where God dwells. We also know that His joy is our strength. Therefore our foundations are built upon the strength of the LORD and not some weakness.

How great is it that His joy is our strength and foundation? With joy set before Him, Jesus went to His death for us and now those of us who believe get to be strong in everything because our foundation is more firm than anything on this earth.

So I say to you people, rejoice for He is a good God and His love endures forever! Be filled with God’s joy by Holy Spirit!

About fulloffire

I love Jesus, I love my wife, I love my baby girl, and I love our dogs. I love seeing people lit on fire for God, our all consuming fire and passionate lover of our souls. I hate sickness, disease, death, debt, unemployment and any other injustice. I love people.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

